1. Name: Saparudin

2. Age: 20 years old

3. Job: Scavenging

4. Please describe your day. When and where do you work? When do you relax? How much do you sleep?

I leave home at 7 am every day, and back home at 11 am. Then I go back home to have lunch and take a nap for couple of hours, have shower, and going back scavenging until 5pm. I sleep at 8 pm and wake up at 5am.

5. Are you married? How many children and/or grandchildren do you have?

Not married yet, and no children.

6. How many people live in your home? What is their relationship to you? What do they do every day?

I live only with my Uncle, he’s the Lapak (Pemulung area owner) in this area.

7. What is your monthly income/wage? What is the monthly income of your household?

I got around Rp. 200.000,-/month. And I need for daily needs at least Rp. 10.000,-/day.

8. How many people are financially dependent on your monthly wage?

Only for myself. But sometimes I send some money to my parents in Palembang, or help my Uncle to pay electricity.

9. What other sources of income do you have?

Picking up trash plastic for XSProject.

10. Have you attended school? How many years of school have you attended? How did you learn your trade?

Yes, graduated from High School in Palembang, South Sumatra. And I learn trading in this kampung area. I was kind of new, and everybody were so nice in teaching me.

11. Do you feel healthy? Do you feel healthy compared to other people at your age, in your profession?

Yes, I feel very much healthy. Even perhaps healthier than the others here.

12. How much longer do you expect to live? How many more years will you work?

I want to live 60 years more and work for as long as I can possibly do.

13. What do you spend your money on?

I use it for food, transport, send some to my parents. Sometimes I can save Rp. 10.000,-/month. And if possible, with my saving I want to do something else other than this.

14. What do you do for recreation?

Playing music. I like rock and dangdut. Sometimes I also watch free Dangdut concert whenever there’s a wedding nearby.

15. Do you feel that you have a good life? Why is your life good/bad?

Not yet. I still need more income to cover my daily needs.

16. Do you think your family’s future outlook on life is good?

There’s always hope. And I always hope for the best for my future.

<< back